Thursday, December 29, 2011

Trinity Faegen Author Interview & Happy New Year Giveaway Hop


BookNerd Interview
Happy New Year 2012 Giveaway Hop
Co-Hosted by Babs Book Bistro



Book Nerd Interview

Trinity Faegen wasn’t always a writer. She had an illustrious career as a Campus Cop in college, led many children astray as a camp counselor, and decorated Christmas trees for sweet, and notsosweet, little old ladies. She loves metal and rock, the Rocky mountains, chocolate cake and college football. She hates sappy stuff and hypocrites. Mostly, though, she loves to write.

Social Media
  



How would you describe yourself in three words?

Funny. Wise. Introverted.

How long have you been writing?

Since I was 16 and used babysitting money to buy a typewriter. It was quite a few years later before I sold my first book, long after the typewriter kicked off.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating The Mephisto Covenant?

Most religions don’t believe in Hell. They believe in some kind of life after death, but not the punishing eternity of Hell. I wanted this book to not feel exclusionary, and purposely focused the mythology on God as a supreme being and love as the unifying doctrine of all faiths. I didn’t realize until I got into research that the concept of Hell and the devil are primarily Christian beliefs. I blame my ignorance on popular culture. The concepts of Hell and Satan have become somewhat secular.

If you gave some of your characters an opportunity to speak for themselves, what would they say?

The Mephisto leader, Key, wouldn’t say anything. He’s the quiet one. The music man, Zee, would say, “More cowbell.” The animal lover, Ty, would say, “Give lots of money to the SPCA.” The player, Denys, would say, “Why yes, I AM happy to see you.” The one who lost his love, Phoenix, would say, “You’ve got ten seconds to leave me alone.” Jax, the sentimental one, would say, “Of all the gin joints in all the world, why couldn’t this one have the Lakers game on?” And Sasha would say, “Living with six sons of Hell? They’re guys before they’re sons of Hell, which means I’m either laughing, listening to them explain the finer points of fuel injection, or fighting over the remote control so I don’t have to watch Legend of Bigfoot, Part eleventy million. But, it’s never boring, and there’s always someone around who’ll pick up dead bugs. Eeuw.”

What’s one thing that readers would be surprised to find out about Sasha and Ajax?

Sasha loves any movie with Chevy Chase, even the stupid ones, because he reminds her so much of her dad. Ajax sometimes hangs out in the kitchen and chops vegetables for Hans, the cook, because it reminds him of growing up on Kyanos, helping his mom prepare meals for seven boys.

What chapter was the most memorable to write and why?

The last one. It was rewritten umpteen times, in so many different ways, but it made me cry every time. The heart and soul of the story is in the last chapter.

Any Camp stories you would like to share?

Haha! I loved camp so much as a kid, it only stood to reason I’d grow up and be a counselor. We had training for two weeks before any campers showed up, and the first night I had to spend alone in my assigned cabin, I was certain I heard someone walking through the brush outside the screened walls. This was in north central Texas, by the way. Of course all the slasher camp movies were front and center in my wild imagination. I finally got up the courage to book it to the next cabin and sleep there, with one of my counselor buddies. The next day, I found out that armadillos, when they’re rooting through leaves and dirt at night, sound exactly like footsteps. So I pretty much freaked out because an odd but endearing creature was looking for his dinner. Oh, so brave!

Who was your first boyfriend?

Bobby Parra in the eighth grade. He was good looking, quiet and sweet. A true gentleman.

Which author would you love to co-author a book with?

In adult fiction, Janet Evanovich. I think we have the same sense of humor, and it’d be a lot of fun. In YA, Jordan Dane. She writes dark, and I love dark. In reality, however, probably no one. I’m too much of a control freak.

If you were deserted on an island, what are the 3 books you would want to bring with you?

Jane Eyre, A Survival Guide, and the Bible.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?

I’ve been under deadline or working on an adult fiction project for so long, I haven’t had a chance to watch much TV. I love Big Bang Theory, but I’m way behind. Oh! I did see Puss In Boots when it came out – so cute!

Where can your readers stalk you

Website: http://www.trinityfaegen.com
On Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/TrinityFaegen
On Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Trinity-Faegen/108974155831943
I also love to get emails! trinity at trinityfaegen dot com 

Thanks SO much for having me, Jean! 

Jean: You're so Welcome!



"A timeless love story with unique mythology that captivates the imagination. I loved it."—P.C. Cast, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the House of Night series

"Trinity Faegen bursts onto the young adult scene with an exciting debut novel told in a fresh voice, and with a unique spin on a timeless tale."—#1 New York Times best-selling author Sherrilyn Kenyon

"This is a fantastic book with everything a paranormal fan craves, from action to suspense to an absolutely sizzling romance. Fans of P.C. Cast and Lauren Kate will not regret buying this book. Faegen is an author to look out for!"—Romantic Times

Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that puts her in grave danger—she is an Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx always looming, Jax knows he has to keep Sasha safe and win her over. But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal life?



I didn’t know what to anticipate from this dark vs light story, but I was pleasingly astonished by the interlacing of religious mythology and old legends into a fresh setting. Trinity Faegan’s The Mephisto Covenant instantly intrigues the reader with the thought of someone being more evil than Lucifer. Throw in a daughter of Eve and it was enough to keep turning the pages.

Once I read the first paragraphs, I was instantly hooked. The introductions of characters and the world they live in was well-written and maintains the reader’s interest. I love how the demon was very atypical from other similar books out there. Faegan was very creative with the attraction between Ajax (or Jax as he is referred to in the story) and Sasha. He is a son of hell and she is a daughter of Eve. That is hard to grasp but Faegan did a remarkable job making their feelings valid and strong and puts a twist in the timeless tale of “falling in love with the wrong person”. The character development of Jax and Sasha is one of the best I have ever read. Even the characters that I did not care for were shaped well that I found myself hating them.

The fact that Sasha is an Anabo (the purest of soul and heart), Eryx (the one who is more devilish than Lucifer) will do anything to have her killed if he ever finds out. Jax knows that he and Sasha are made for each other, must conceal that fact from Eryx.

Be aware that it is a notch above many of the YA book that I’ve read. The violence was explicit and the sexual scenes were very steamy. I can only assume a sequel will be released since this is “Book 1”. All
in all, it was a gripping adventure from start to finish. The Mephisto Convenat is an action-packed story that blends folklore, religion, and romance into a refreshingly unique story.

You can purchase The Mephisto Covenant at these following retailers.
Click LINKS below:



And now, The Giveaway. 
Thank you Trinity for making this giveaway possible.
1 Winner will receive one Signed Copy of The Mephisto Covenant by Trinity Faegen.

***If you're an Author and would like to do an Interview and Giveaway, you can e-mail me at jeanbooknerd@gmail.com****

Click >>>>HERE<<<< for my other Giveaways!
Click >>>HERE<<< for the rest of the Hop


a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 comments:

  1. I had a little trouble with posting my link for my tweet, to proove I did tweet it's here.. http://twitter.com/#!/vampirechick26/status/152330757526921216 and my twitter name is @vampirechick26

    Thanks for the great interview and giveaway. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. this book sounds amazing, and what a great interview
    thanks

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds amazing :) Good luck everyone.
    Nathiel
    The Wolfs Library

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks you for this interview and great giveaway

    all the best and Happy New Year

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for the giveaway and Happy New Year!! =)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have seen this book and have always wanted to pick it up. After reading the interview and your review, I definitely HAVE to pick it up.

    Thank you for the giveaway. :) Happy 2012.

    P.S. I am a new follower. I have also added you to my Google Reader. :D

    ReplyDelete
  7. nice giveaway...the book is very nice .

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the great interview and giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thank you for this great giveaway:)

    Happy New Year!:)

    ReplyDelete
  10. :D:D thanks for the giveaway and love the interview!!;))

    bella

    ReplyDelete