Monday, March 13, 2017

Guest Post with Arwen Elys Dayton


Book Nerd Guest Post

Arwen Elys Dayton spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid (which she explored by a single fading flashlight when researching Resurrection), Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland. She enjoys creating complete worlds inhabited by characters who charm, frustrate or inspire.

Arwen lives with her husband and their three children on the West Coast of the United States. You can follow her @arwenelysdayton on Twitter and Instagram, or reach her by email at arwenelysdayton@gmail.com.

Arwen is represented by Jodi Reamer at Writers House.


Social Media
    




Your Favorite Quotes/Scenes from DISRUPTOR

Disruptor introduces a character called Dex, who has trouble keeping things straight and who frequently confuses Quin with someone else. Though Quin is stuck with him at first, soon she becomes intrigued by the broken fragments of Seeker history he begins to assemble for her. This excerpt is from Chapter 4...

“Can I tell you a story?” Dex asked her, calling her thoughts back to him as she led Yellen behind him. Dex had visibly relaxed as soon as the meadow and river had faded behind the thick curtain of darkness that marked the edge of their tunnel. “It will help me, and you may find it interesting.”

“All right.” The chances of his story making any sense were slim, but she wanted to hear anything Dex might say, in hopes of gathering a few useful grains of truth. His effortless use of the medallion in his hand was proof that he’d been trained as a Seeker far more thoroughly than Quin.

“There’s a man, and he was in England—a different England from the one you would find if you traveled south right now, because it was before this time,” Dex began. He glanced at her, perhaps to make sure she was giving the tale proper attention, and then looked down again. “But it was England anyway. This man—Quilla, can you imagine?—he carried an enormous pack on his back, with all sorts of wonders stored inside it.”

Dex fell silent, lost in the imagined details. Beyond the dark tunnel walls, Quin could discern open air and the waterfall, behind them now.

“What sort of wonders?” she asked quietly.

Dex nodded toward the objects made of stone and glass that Quin had tucked into her waistband and pockets. “Things like those. Those are wonderful, if you can remember how to use them.”

“If I can?”

“Or me,” he said, with a look of discomfort. “Or me, of course.”

The ghost of a larger river appeared on Quin’s right, with the forests of the estate above it.

“The man’s wife was with him,” Dex said, “though she came reluctantly, if we’re being honest. I want to be honest, finally. And his son was with him too, and a second son, who was so young that his mother carried him everywhere. He liked that. Babies like to be carried—you know that from Adelaide.” He smiled a private sort of smile, the smile he reserved for Quilla. He said, “It would turn out the boys were very different from each other, but it was too early to know that then. How could they? When children are small, they can still be anything.

“This family walked across the whole of England, down to the south and up to the north, back when the land was open and as wild as England has ever been.”

“How long ago?” Quin tried to picture the world he was describing, as she watched the spectral shapes of a hillside and trees go by. Inside their dark tunnel, they were traveling onto the estate, her home.

“We have to think about it in two ways,” Dex told her thoughtfully. He was gazing at something only he could see in the blackest part of the tunnel. “It was a long time ago, or maybe it didn’t happen yet.”

And with that, Dex’s brief spell of coherence came to an end. He stayed silent as thick woods slid by, dark and unformed. Quin and Dex were walking, and it was impossible to tell if they and the tunnel were moving through the world, or if the world were moving around them.

“Is that all?” she asked Dex gently after a while.

“To the story?” He laughed, softly and genuinely. “No, it’s very much longer, and there are different versions of the ending.”



For readers of Sarah J. Maas and of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy comes Disruptor, the sequel to Traveler, the thrilling conclusion to the Seeker series.
Quin has spent her life as her father’s pawn. She was trained to kill and manipulated to guarantee her family’s power. And now that she’s broken free of that life, she’s found herself trapped again, hostage to a plot that has been centuries in the making.

It’s taken generations for the pieces to come together, and finally all is in place. Her best friend Shinobu’s mind has been corrupted, the Young Dread has aligned with her enemy John, and the bloodthirsty Watchers are being awakened and gathered. Now there is nothing that can stop the force of time.

But Quin will no longer be a pawn. Quin is a Seeker. She stands for light in a shadowy world. She will face the vengeance of the past and its enemies and save herself and the ones she loves, or she will die trying.

Praise for the Seeker series

“Katniss and Tris would approve.” —TeenVogue.com

“This book will not disappoint.” —USAToday.com

“An action-packed read with plenty of surprising turns. Readers of Kami Garcia, Tahereh Mafi, and Marie Lu will appreciate.” —Booklist

“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.” —SLJ

“Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable

“A tightly woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series

You can purchase Disruptor at the following Retailers:
        


And now, The Giveaways.
Thank you Penguin/Random House for making this giveaway possible.
1 Winner will receive a Copy of Disruptor (Seeker #3) by Arwen Elys Dayton.

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
jbnlatestinterviews

4 comments:

  1. Hm, if I could be a character.... I know! Mr. Moto!

    ReplyDelete
  2. If I could be a character in any novel I'd be Hermione Granger because she's smart, quick-thinking, sensative, loyal, and can kick butt when needed.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I would want to me one of the heroines in an old romance novel I use to read when I first started reading many many years ago.

    ReplyDelete
  4. An easy one for me. Hermione Granger for her intelligence, loyalty and magic skills.

    ReplyDelete