Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Guest Post with Kristy Fairlamb


Photo Content from Kristy Fairlamb

Kristy Fairlamb is an Australian author of the Young Adult Lucid series coming out in 2019.

She spends her days drinking coffee and torturing her characters with loads of tension – both love related and the nail biting kind.

Long before her days of writing began she spent half her childhood in a make believe world; daydreaming about growing up, falling in love, and travelling the world.

She’s worked as a nanny in country England, a junior matron in a boy’s boarding school south of London, a governess in East Timor, and made coffees and cleared tables in the New South Wales snow fields.

She lives with her husband, teenage daughter, and two sons in the beautiful Adelaide Hills where they’re lucky enough to get occasional visits from the local koalas.

She’s terrible at gardening, likes her bookshelves sorted by colour, and recently checked off a lifelong dream of jumping from a plane.

When she’s not writing or daydreaming about her stories you’ll find her reading, cooking for her family, or doing anything to avoid the housework.
        



Series: Lucid (Book 1)
Paperback: 272 pages
Publisher: Lakewater Press (April 23, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0648482502
ISBN-13: 978-0648482505

"The ending pulled at my heart strings!" Elsa, Netgalley

"Captivated right from the beginning!" Sarah-Jayne, Goodreads

"Fresh and easy to read and fall in love with!" Holly, Goodreads

"Captivating plot, beautifully written." Amanda, Goodreads



DELETED SCENE - LUCID BY KRISTY FAIRLAMB
During Lucy’s time at the lake house, there was a scene just after the big breakfast that, although lovely, wasn’t really needed to advance the plot and so it was cut. 

I left the table to find the gift I’d bought for Richie. Today would’ve been his eighteenth birthday. 

I stood in front of Cal. ‘For Richie, but you’ll do.’ The room fell quiet, a silent understanding. Slowly Cal took the package from my outstretched hand, and I sat, bunching my shaking fingers in my lap. 

Cal’s smile faded, it did that sometimes at abrupt reminders of his brother’s absence. He looked down at the gift and back up to me, as if just realising what I’d given him. With a heavy, one-sided lift of his mouth as thanks, he pulled on the black ribbon and tore into the delicate white tissue paper. 


He turned the small picture frame over and stilled. Tears welled in his eyes as his gaze met mine. He flicked another glance at the picture unable to control the wide smile that spread to his lips. 

‘Wow, Luce.’ 

Marie stood to glance over Cal’s shoulder. With a gasp, she gripped the back of his chair and held a hand to her chest. 

‘Show us, Cal,’ Harry said from the other end of the table, and Cal turned the picture round for everyone to see. 

I’d drawn Cal and Richie, not as they were, but as they would have been if Richie had aged with the rest of us. Cal had a soccer ball under one foot and Richie stood beside him with a basketball under his arm. What I wouldn’t give for it to be a photograph instead of a sketch. 

After admiring it for a bit longer Cal leapt up and embraced me in a big Cal style hug, then much to my surprise, grabbed my face and planted a big fat kiss on my cheek. 

I laughed. ‘Not quite the reaction I was expecting.’ 

‘Sorry, I’m overcome. You’re just so friggin talented,’ he said with a big, teary eyed grin.


A terrifying power. A horrifying curse.

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge, she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.


You can purchase Lucid at the following Retailers:
        

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
jbnlatestinterviews

0 comments:

Post a Comment