Monday, February 10, 2020

What Kind of Girl by Alyssa B. Sheinmel



Girl In Pieces meets Moxie in this unflinching exploration of the many forms of abuse society inflicts upon women, and the strength it takes to rise above it all to claim your worth.

The girls at North Bay Academy are taking sides. It all started when Mike Parker's girlfriend showed up with a bruise on her face. Or, more specifically, when she walked into the principal's office and said Mike hit her. But the students have questions. Why did she go to the principal and not the police? Why did she stay so long if he was hurting her? Obviously, if it's true, Mike should be expelled. But is it true?

Some girls want to rally for his expulsion—and some want to rally around Mike. The only thing that the entire student body can agree on? Someone is lying. And the truth has to come out.


Praise for WHAT KIND OF GIRL

"Both timely and timeless, WHAT KIND OF GIRL is a powerful exploration of abuse in its many forms, as well as the strength it takes to rise up and speak your truth. Alyssa Sheinmel has crafted a compelling, moving, and empowering story of hope and courage-one that will stay with you long after you've turned the last page." Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be, The Last to Let Go, and Something Like Gravity

"A poignant, thought-provoking novel that will resonate deeply." Kirkus Reviews

"An immersive experience...What Kind of Girl bears testament to the resilience of teenagers' spirits and the galvanizing power of friendship." Foreword

"Fans of Jennifer Mathieu's Moxie and Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces will enjoy this multiple points-of-view novel for the highly relevant subject matter, including domestic violence, self-harm, eating disorders, and mental illness. Recommended for purchase for its diverse characters and timely topics." School Library Journal

"This hard-hitting novel about social norms and mental health expresses the importance of honesty and self-advocacy." Publishers Weekly

"A must read for young adults... What Kind of Girl by Alyssa Sheinmel answers all the questions we never knew we had about dating abuse." Affinity Magazine

"This book is powerful and would definitely make a great addition to any high school library or classroom. It would also be perfect for high school counselors to use as a book study for both students and staff in support of social and emotional learning standards." School Library Connection

You can purchase What Kind of Girl at the following Retailers:
    

Photo Content from Alyssa Sheinmel 

Alyssa Sheinmel is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels for young adults, including A Danger to Herself and Others and Faceless. She is the co-author of The Haunting of Sunshine Girl and its sequel, The Awakening of Sunshine Girl. Alyssa grew up in Northern California and New York, and currently lives and writes in New York City. Follow her on Instagram @alyssasheinmel and Twitter @AlyssaSheinmel or visit her online at www.alyssasheinmel.com.
        

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
jbnspotlights

4 comments:

  1. I dream of being a published picture book author.

    ReplyDelete
  2. To have an art studio/workshop with a gorgeous view.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've dreamed of holding my 4 grandchild who was born February 12th. Later this month, I'm visiting my first granddaughter and seeing her 2 year old brother and parents.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have always dreamed of visiting the actual places my ancestors have lived. I am ever closer to this coming true.

    ReplyDelete