Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Guest Post with Janet Gurtler


Book Nerd Guest Post

A Rita Award Finalist and Crystal Kite Award Finalist, Janet Gurtler's young adult books have been chosen for the JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION and as BEST BOOKS FOR TEENS from the Canadian Children’s Book Center. Janet lives in Okotoks Alberta, Canada with her husband, son, and a chubby black Chihuahua named Bruce.

Social Media
   




Top Ten List - 10 characteristics of a great friend:

Funny
Loyal
Kind
Supportive
Fun
Truthful
Open
Enthusiastic
Empathetic
Compassionate



10 Most Random spontaneous thing you've ever done.

Drove 1300 KM to see an NHL hockey game

Got my hair dyed blonde

Agreed to a Caribbean Cruise while under the influence

Bought expensive face cream I didn’t want from a handsome man

Burst out into song while at work in a quiet store

Wore a Sugar Crisp Bear costume to a mall

Yesterday I paid for Starbucks for the car behind me

Danced my face off at a concert where no one was dancing

Got my nose pierced in my 40’s

Told a girl in a book store carrying my book that I was the author of the book. She thought I was completely weird or didn’t believe me and walked away. Later I saw her with her mom and told her mom the same thing and signed the book for though I’m pretty sure she thought I was nuts.

EXCERPT

“You have a thing for him?” Wilf asks. “And I mean the older one.”

“No!” I stand straighter. “I barely know him.” There’s a tingling in my stomach though, and when I look up, Wilf is staring at me.

“Rhea always said I had a sixth sense for stuff like that. It’s what made me such a good lawyer.”

I glare at him, almost telling him my dad is a lawyer and a jerk too but say nothing instead.

“Flynn and his family are good people,” Wilf says. He bends down and picks at the leaves of a plant growing up from a pot on the ground. “Kyle’s dad gambled. Spent everything and then some and took off and left her with his debt. Her house foreclosed, and they moved into a grubby old rental in town. She works at a bakery and struggles to keep up with bills and the rent. They come for meals so that the boys eat properly. Especially Kyle.”

I swallow and nod and stare down at my feet, which seem to be shuffling around on their own.

“The people here all have stories. Remember that. Flynn’s not a charity case.”

I look up and nod again.

“Probably won’t hurt a girl like you, seeing life on the other side.”

I shift my feet again, wanting to argue about what kind of girl I am, but it’s kind of pointless.

“Good job, kiddo,” he says to Kyle, who has returned with a jug of water that’s slopping over the sides. “I have some things to look after,” he says to me. “Would you be okay looking after Kyle?” he asks. I glance around as if he might be talking to someone else.



A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.


You can purchase The Truth About Us at the following Retailers:
        


And now, The Giveaways.
Thank you Janet Gurtler for making this giveaway possible.

2 Small Sock Monkey by Janet Gurtler.
Large Sock Monkey by Janet Gurtler.

Signed Copy of Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler.

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*
a Rafflecopter giveaway

0 comments:

Post a Comment