Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Vlog Post with Kimberly Derting

Photo Content from Kimberly Derting

Kimberly Derting is the author of the award-winning THE BODY FINDER seriesTHE PLEDGE trilogyTHE TAKING trilogy, and UNDRESSED (her first book in The Men Of West Beach series). Her books have been translated into 15 languages, and both THE BODY FINDER and THE PLEDGE were YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selections. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where the gloomy weather is ideal for writing anything dark and creepy. Her three beautiful (and often mouthy) children serve as an endless source of inspiration and frequently find the things they say buried in the pages of their mother's books, or on Twitter for the world to see.



“In the privacy of my dreams, I'm a warrior.” Kimberly Derting, The Essence

“Charlie?" he said, pulling mme back to face him. "I do love you." My breath caught on his words . . . words I'd waited so long to hear.” 
Kimberly Derting, The Essence

“Everyone has regrets, I suppose. You can’t choose one path without missing out on another,”
“We’ve never matched. It’s what makes us perfect for each other.” 
Kimberly Derting, The Essence

“For some, times of change can be trying. But these times can also present great opportunity, a chance for us to show what we're made of, to show our dignity and fortitude. A chance for us to grow.” 
Kimberly Derting, The Essence

“Danger, dread, mystery, and romance” (Booklist) continue in the second book of The Pledge trilogy, as Charlie’s reign is under siege from the most unusual of enemies.

At the luminous conclusion of The Pledge, Charlaina defeated the tyrant Sabara and took her place as Queen of Ludania. But Charlie knows that Sabara has not disappeared: The evil queen’s Essence is fused to Charlie’s psyche, ready to arise at the first sign of weakness.

Charlie is not weak, but she’s being pushed to the brink. In addition to suppressing the ever-present influence of Sabara, she’s busy being queen—and battling a growing resistance determined to return Ludania to its discriminatory caste system. Charlie wants to be the same girl Max loves, who Brook trusts, but she’s Your Majesty now, and she feels torn in two.

As Charlie journeys to an annual summit to meet with leaders of nearby Queendoms—an event where her ability to understand all languages will be the utmost asset—she is faced with the ultimate betrayal. And the only person she can turn to for help is the evil soul residing within.

Praise for ESSENCE

"Readers who enjoyed the first book... will love following Charlaina’s growth from a vendor girl to a queen...[This book] will intrigue readers with a taste for dramatic dystopian romance." 

"Defeating evil queen Sabara at the conclusion of The Pledge (2011) was only the beginning for Charlie, now Queen Charlaina of Ludania. Derting’s follow-up casts Charlie in an untenable circumstance that only her inner strength can defeat." Booklist Online

The second book to Kimberly Derting’s Pledge series, The Essence, continues the compelling story of Charlaina after defeating Sabara and taking her place as the Queen of Ludania. Adjusting her new life as queen and having the class system eradicated, she realizes that there is still conflict in her kingdom and even threats to her life. Invited to a summit with Queens from surrounding countries, she learns of the dangers that lie outside her kingdom walls. She’s struggling to keep a kingdom together while the essence of Queen Sabara gives pressure to her mind.

It is quite evident that there are more at stake in The Essence. In the first book, The Pledge, she’s trying to protect her sister. Now, she’s trying to protect a whole country. The target on her has gotten bigger and danger seems to be following at a closer distance. Charlaina is struggling with her newly found power but develops it delicately and logically.

Kimberly’s writing style is unbelievably wonderful. She knows exactly what to write to have readers stop at certain phrases and resonate at how magnificent her wordings are. The twists and turns in this book is more complex but just as enjoyable as in The Pledge. Max doesn’t have a prominent presence this time around but when he appears on the page, Kimberly sure knows how to squeeze every bit of his goodness. The ending wrapped it up perfectly while building the basis for the third. The Essence is a remarkable addition to the series that furthers the plot and develops its unforgettable characters.

You can purchase The Essence at the following Retailers:

And now, The Giveaways.
Thank you KIMBERLY DERTING for making this giveaway possible.
1 Winner will receive one an ARC copy of Essence & Signed Bookmark by Kimberly Derting.


  1. Thanks so much for the giveaway! One day I will win a book!

  2. Thank you so much for the giveaway :)

  3. Thank you Kimberly Derting and Jeanbooknerd for the awesome giveaway! The Pledge is one of my top five favorite books! I love the Body Finder series as well! I wish I could meet Kimberly at a book signing; I am a big fan!
    -Cali W.

  4. Thank you so much for this giveaway Kim and Jean! I absolutely love The Pledge series and especially love MAX. Love love love Kimberly, really wish I could meet her someday:)

  5. Thanks thanks thanks for this and for the vlog!! I always love watching Kim :D
    Thanks for the giveaway as well!!! Cannot wait to get my hands on The Essence!!!

  6. Thank you for the giveaway. I really enjoy reading both of your series.

  7. Thanks! I can't wait to read it after I read the first book :D